School Advisory Board

The Charlottesville Catholic School Board serves in a consultative role to the Superintendent of Schools and the Principal of Charlottesville Catholic School. The board consists of members from the community, the local parishes, a faculty representative, and parents, Board Bylaws are available for review in greater detail. The board assists in six areas for which there are ordinarily Standing Committees or appointed persons with particular expertise and/or responsibility. The areas include: development, marketing, finance, strategic planning, facilities, and legislative advocacy.

The Finance Committee shall have a minimum of 3 persons, with appropriate expertise, and meet on a monthly basis prior to the full school board meeting. The school verifies that all funds raised in the name of the school are under the control of the principal.

In accordance with diocesan policy, the school boards do not deliberate on any matters pertaining to personnel or the curriculum.

Board meetings are open to the community. They are held on the third Thursday of each month at 6:30 pm; however, we recommend anyone planning to attend to check the school calendar to make sure the meeting time/date have not changed.

The Advisory Board guidelines and handbook is available here.

If you have a question or comment for a member of the school board, please contact:

2019 – 2020  Advisory Board

Chairperson Gary Albert

Vice Chair & Legislative Chair – Jessica Phillips

Development Chair –  Craig Curtis

Enrollment Chair –  Connie Horan

Finance Chair – Mike Phillips

Marketing Chair – Vacant

Facilities Chair – Jim Assink

Secretary & Alumni Relations Chair – Nick Pilipowskyj

PTO Chair Mike Bruscia

Faculty Representative –  Mini Vasquez

At-Large Members – Tom Strassburg

Principal – Michael Riley

Priest Chaplain –  Monsignor Timothy Keeney